Calico Gluten-Free Session Pale
1. A plain woven textile made from unprocessed cotton.
2. A gluten-free* pale ale, low in bitterness with hints of grapefruit & marmalade.
We want as many people as possible to be able to enjoy our beers.
So, when we were presented with the challenge of creating a beer which delivers on flavour, whilst still being gluten-free, we couldn’t help but accept!
What is gluten-free beer?
As with many beers, we include barley and oats in the grains used to create Calico, both of which contain gluten.
According to coeliac.org.uk “Only foods that contain 20 parts per million (ppm) or less can be labelled as ‘gluten free’.”
To achieve this we use a super-useful enzyme called Brewer’s Clarex which breaks down the proteins in the grain and brings down the gluten content of the beer, making it safe for those with gluten intolerances to enjoy.
Every batch of Calico is then tested by an external body to ensure that the beer is under the 20 ppm threshold, so you can be sure that you’re getting a consistent level of gluten with every sip.
The result of this process is a smooth, easy drinking pale ale which can be appreciated by those with gluten intolerances, as well as those without.
How can I be sure that Calico is suitable for me?
According to coeliac.org.uk “Research shows that this tiny amount of gluten is not toxic to people with coeliac disease and they can eat unlimited amounts of products with gluten at a level of 20 ppm or less.”
In short, if you have a gluten intolerance, then grab a Calico, kick back and enjoy!
However, if you have a severe allergy to any amount of gluten, then please consult your doctor before trying Calico.
Calico is available in selected outlets in the UK including Salt Beer Factory Taproom & our Craft Asylum bars. We are hoping to expand our gluten-free range, so keep your eyes on our website and social media for updates.
For information on stocking our beers, feel free to contact us.
*Gluten-free as per EU regulation under 20 ppm.